The New Curriculum at Ash Trees Academy

At Ash Trees Academy, our pupils receive a personalised curriculum to meet their individual and unique needs. We have a strong focus on delivering the key skills.  We seek to develop the whole child to their full potential, through providing enriching and hands on teaching and learning opportunities and experiences.

Throughout the academic year, we provide our pupils with a range of exciting topics to excite, motivate and enthuse. Here you will find a brief overview of the themes that will be covered in each key stage for the academic year 2018/19 Curriculum Coverage Academic Year 2018/19 . You can also see our previous curriculum for 2017/18  Curriculum Coverage Academic Year 2017/18

These themes form our school curriculum which runs as part of a three year rolling programme. Here you will find our Long term Planning overview, outlining our creative curriculum topics.

We have been working very hard to ensure our pupils follow the key elements of the new National Curriculum: we adapt the curriculum to meet the needs of our learners.  The new National curriculum came into effect from September 2015. Here you can access the document in its entirety: PRIMARY National Curriculum.

You can review work undertaken each term via parent consultations, in class family learning sessions and through our online gallery.

We use a range of materials to support with the teaching of phonics and reading and do not rely on one specific scheme, these include Read Write Inc & Letters and Sounds. Staff will be happy to share their expertise if you have any questions.

At Ash Trees Academy, we pay due care and attention to National Curriculum guidance, however due to the varied needs of our pupils we modify the teaching content accordingly. If you wish to see our subject specific medium term plans, please speak with your child’s class teacher. We would be more than happy to share these with you.

More detailed information will be provided in our curriculum newsletters, which will continue to be sent out to you on a termly basis.

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

The curriculum for pupils in Reception remains the same. It covers seven areas of learning development. Children should mostly develop the three prime areas first, as these are the skills most essential for healthy development and future learning:

* Communication and language (speaking and listening)

* Physical development (PE and large scale play)

* Personal, social and emotional development

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in four specific areas:

* Literacy (Reading and Writing)

* Mathematics

* Understanding the world (Science, ICT, History, Geography and RE)

* Expressive arts and design (Art, Music, Dance and Design Technology)

If you would like more information please see our EYFS Policy

To find out more about these areas of learning visit Foundation Years website

If you require any further information or guidance, please do not hesitate to speak to our staff. We are always here to support and guide you on any aspect of teaching and learning at Ash Trees Academy.


just curic
Links to other sites
Certain links, including hypertext links, in Our Site will take You outside our site. Links are provided for Your convenience and inclusion of any link does not imply endorsement or approval by Us of the linked site, its operator or its content. We are not responsible for the content of any website outside Our Site.